Posted by: Susan | June 17, 2008

The Best Summer Salad That Men Will Actually Eat

I may not be the best 1930’s wife (see Susan M.’s blog for the test), but I am always trying to get more veggies into my husband.  As in actually eaten, not just served and put on his plate.  He turns up his nose at the best salads unless they are loaded with pasta, mayo, or other high-fat fixings.  So I tried this one on him and son for Father’s Day and – much to my amazement – they both WOLFED it down.  And it couldn’t be easier!

BLT Salad (Serves 6)

  • One head iceberg lettuce
  • 6 slices bacon, cooked and diced (yeah, I know, but it isn’t much per serving, and you can use turkey bacon if it bothers you that much)
  • 1-2 tomatoes, diced
  • Croutons
  • Ranch dressing, low-fat if you like

 

Cut the lettuce into six wedges, drizzle with ranch dressing, top with the rest of the stuff, and serve.  Some people prefer it with mayo, and I’m sure it’s just as good.

Enjoy!

 

Responses

  1. Looks easy enough that even I might be able to pull it off.

    So….what exactly was your score on the 1930’s wife test? My first score was miserable but I just retook the dang thing and cheated. Much better results the second time around.

  2. You don’t even have to cook the bacon if you buy the stuff in jars!

    My score was SO low, I can’t even remember it. Something under 40, I think!


Leave a Reply

Categories

