Posted by: Susan | July 10, 2008

The Best Mosquito Bite Remedies

Being the mosquito magnet that I am, I consider myself something of an expert on this subject.  If I don’t spray myself from head to toe with something containing DEET, I can’t walk to the mailbox without getting swarmed.  Believe me, I’ve tried it all — Listerine, Skin So Soft, a Bounce sheet in my pocket — none of it works.  Trust me on this and don’t waste your time!  They even find me indoors, so I have had to come up with something to relieve the intense itching.  Fortunately for me, the bites are usually gone in a few hours, but they are miserable when I’ve got 5 or 6 from a quick trip outside with a dog that really, really has to pee and can’t wait for me to get all prepped.

So, again I’ve tried them all, and these really work.  Plus they’re all items you have around the house and don’t require any mixing or preparation to use.  But if you want to, you can try the one where you cut a lemon in half, put it over an open flame, add sugar….I forget the rest.

  1. White vinegar.  Yup, the kind you clean your coffee maker with.  Dab it on with a cotton ball or wadded up paper towel.
  2. Liquid soap.  This works great, but the dogs do tend to lick it off, so it’s my second choice.  Or my first choice if I’m away from home.  I’ve heard that bar soap also works but haven’t tried it.
  3. Vicks Vapo Rub.  Who woulda thought?  If I’m nearer the medicine cabinet than the kitchen where the vinegar is, this is my choice.  Smelly, but it works.
  4. Benadryl cream.  This is kinda hit and miss, in my experience.  In fact, the first three work much better than any anti-itch product I’ve bought, including hydrocortisone.

So there you have it.  A short list, but effective.

Responses

  1. Rub deodarant over the mosquito bite and give it ten to twenty seconds and it works immediatly.


Leave a Reply

Categories

